Alumy Creek Reserve Trust
Closed in 1969 as an official teaching establishment, the 1908 weatherboard teacher's residence and one-teacher schoolhouse set in 10 acres of recreation grounds, were restored as a Bicentennial project and the museum was subsequently opened in November 1988. The school site was originally established in 1869. The present school, the second to be built on the site, is fully functional and seats 30 plus primary school age children. Pens, ink, project sheets and teachers' aids are available for use. The school houses a large collection of early kindergarten and primary school text books and educational material including school magazines. The residence contains a specially developed heritage room in hounour of the Alumy Creek District ex-servicemen who enlisted in the World Wars, including those who attended Alumy Creek Public School. One of the largest markets on the north coast of New South Wales is held in the grounds on the last Saturday of each month. The 1930s-style classroom is complete with original free-standing fuel room heater, demountable blackboard, 19th-century teacher's desk and school press, and is furnished with six single and twelve double-seated cast-iron sided desks of various sizes to suit 30 pupils ranging in age from five years upwards. Ceramic inkwells, pens and school-mixed ink allow today's children a novel writing experience. Audio facilities are installed.
The collection is a visual history of public school education during the first half of the last century, and in particular the history of Alumy Creek Public School. It encompasses a wide range of school memorabilia, documents, publications and magazines. The heritage room in the teacher's residence is dedicated to the local ex-servicement of both World Wars. Planning a visit? Address: Lawrence Road Grafton NSW Tel: 02 6642 2598 Opening hours: Last Saturday of the month and by appointment Admission: Nominal $1 (scale of fees applies for special projects) ID: N010