Kilkivan Historical District Museum
The Kilkivan & District Museum and Visitor Information Centre is located at 12 Bligh Street in Kilkivan's main street, opposite the Post Office.
The Museum complex currently comprises 8 buildings including an early business premises; a railway fettlers cottage; a railway cream shed; outside pan toilet; a slab laundry and large slab shed constructed using slabs from many historic homesteads; a stockman's hut (re-erected in as near as possible original condition and named Dray's Hut) and the Oakview Forestry Barracks.
The Museum is operated by volunteer members of the Kilkivan & District Historical Society, which was founded in 1979. The Museum opened in its present building - the Rise and Shine Cottage - in 1981 (the Cottage itself is named after the alluvial gold field which was discovered at the eastern end of Bligh Street in 1874 and which was quickly worked out).
All the Museum's buildings house items of local cultural, historical and social interest. The bulk of the Museum collection is owned by the Society, and has been donated by locals and former locals. Items on display come from all parts of the District including Kilkivan, Goomeri, Woolooga, Widgee, Tansey and Booubyjan.
Hands-on everyday experiences featuring devices from the past are popular with school groups. Activities such as buttermaking, bean slicing, orange juicing, corn cracking, pen and ink writing and writing on slates are just some of the now near-unique experiences the Museum can offer.
The Museum also houses a large collection of documents and photos which can assist family researchers, and is always on the lookout for additional photographs of the District to collect or copy.
The complex's main building has disability access, and two other buildings at ground level have easy access.
Local community archival records, photographs, war memorabilia, minerals.