Hawkesbury Regional Gallery

Hawkesbury Regional Gallery opened on June 25 2005. The Gallery is located within the Deerubbin Centre, a landmark building designed to reflect the heritage values of the surrounding disctrict, with landscaped grounds and cafe providing a pleasant environment for people to meet. It provides opportunities for visitors to access contemporary visual art with a unique Hawkesbury flavour.


The Hawkesbury Art Collection comprises approximately 300 works of art, the majority acquired through the Macquarie Towns Acquisitive Art Exhibition, which was conducted throughout the decade 1985 - 1995. The collection contains many works by regional artists, including Greg Hansell, Judy Brownlie, Kathleen Evans, Warwick Fuller, Terry Hayes, Gloria Galvin, Marica Rea, William Wells, Leanne Tobin, Edna Mariong Watson and Bert Moriarty. There are also a number works by Modernist and Postmodernist artists Bim Hilder, Maurice McDonald, Suzanne Archer, David Fairbairn, John Firth-Smith, Barry Gazzard, Peter Laverty, Ursula Laverty Peter Pinson, Tony Tozer and David Voight. Most of the works are two-dimensional, although there is also a small number of three-dimensional works including sculpture in cast bronze, aluminium, and fibre art. In 1999 Mr A E Cleary, formerly of Pitt Town, gifted to the people of Hawkesbury approximately 80 paintings and prints including works by Donald Friend, Lloyd Rees, Arthur Boyd, Clifton Pugh, Norman Lindsay and Lance Solomon.