This unique grouping of stone colonial buildings dates back to the 1860s and lies in an area known as the Greenough Front Flats. The surrounding landscape is renowned for its distinctive trees which grow sideways, stunted through the effects of wind and salt. Pioneer wheat farmers first settled the Greenough area in 1858 and suffered many hardships including crops falling prey to rust, and disastrous floods. Among the many historic buildings at the Hamlet are the Old Store, Central Greenough School, Old Gaol, Courthouse and Police Station, Road Board Office, St Catherine's Church and Hall, Hackett's Cottage, the Catholic Presbytery, St. Joseph's School, St. Peter's Church and the Dominican Convent.
eleven restored original buildings