Southern Cross University Music Archive for the Pacific

The Music Archive for the Pacific has been established by the Southern Cross University, Lismore, Australia for the main purpose of providing a collection of recordings of indigenous music, related books, journals, musical instruments and art works to interested persons for research purposes.


The archive covers the music of the indigenous people of Australia (incl. Torres Strait), Papua New Guinea (incl. Bougainville), New Zealand as well as the nations of the Pacific Islands - Cook Islands, Easter Island, Fiji, Hawaii, Nauru, New Caledonia, Rarotonga, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.