Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmith Shop
Bluey Blundstone's Blacksmith shop was built in 1865 in Melrose, South Australia. Melrose is the oldest town in the Flinders Ranges, first settled with the discovery of copper in 1846. This is just 10 years after South Australia was proclaimed a state. For some time Melrose was the most Northerly judicial, commercial, educational, religious and postal centre, serving the huge expanse known as 'The Far North'. The substantial size, architectural style and unique double forge reflect the importance of Blueys to these local and regional activities. The entire complex has been lovingly and authentically restored with the smithy's shop now fully equipped with tools and machinery pertaining to that era. The work area alone is seven sq metres with five metre high ceilings. The thick stone walls are constantly interrupted with doorways, a window and shelving - all original. Attached and continuous to the rear of the workshop, is the family's humble pug and pine dwelling. To one side is a fully enclosed shoeing area separating the workshop from a large stable. The stable has now been incorporated into the residence. Most of the building and grounds are open to the public as a coffee shop and B&B. The present owners produce items-to-order at the forge. Public access to the coffee shop through the rear of the workshop. The property was accepted onto the State Heritage Register in 1992. The owners live on the property and are readily contacted.
All hand tools and mechanical equipment associated with blacksmithing from 1860's onwards. A rare forge, 7' bellows, floor mandril etc. A display of items made at the blacksmith shop during that period. In the main residence, household items from that period.