Old Timers Traeger Museum
Located in the grounds of the Old Timers Village the Museum is half way between Alice Springs CBD and the airport. Old Timers began in the early 1950's as part of Rev Dr John Flynn's dream of, "a mantle of safety" for people of the inland, a place where they could retire in comfort and receive medical attention. Today it consists of nursing home, hostel, independent living units, day therapy centre and Museum. It was the dream of another man in the 1960's that saw the Museum created. Then manager of Old Timers, John Blakeman, concerned that the history of Central Australia was disappearing began collecting items of data connected with the exploration, opening up to settlement and the people of the "Centre". He opened it to the public in 1966, naming it in honour of radio pioneer and inventor of the pedal radio, Alfred Traeger. Since that time the collection has continued to grow with donations of items from the community. Old Timers Traeger Museum is run entirely by volunteers, most of whom are elderly residents of the village with first hand knowledge of the region.
Large collection of objects & photographs most related to Central Australia. Covering the period of the exploration and then opening up of the region after completion of the Overland Telegraph in the late 1800's through to the present day. Displays include gem stones & fossils, Aboriginal artefacts, early explorers & Overland Telegraph, patoralists/mining/pioneers, John Flynn & Alfred Traeger.